My, Have Things Changed!


About 12:45 am, I got a text on my phone that woke me up!  Normally, I turn the sound off on my mobile phone overnight, but while Hubby is deployed, it stays on.  I NEVER want to miss a chance to hear his voice.  But now, over 10 years since his first deployment, technology has changed so much and I got a text from him.

Not only can he call me more often, but we also can Skype, e-mail, and text!!  This makes deployments much easier.  I remember during the first deployments when wives (and I say wives because they did more complaining then the husbands that I met) would complain about not getting a daily e-mail from their soldiers.  We were so lucky that our guys had internet access and that we could get the occasional phone call.  After a tearful phone call from a spouse, upset about not hearing from her husband after two days, I decided to change my approach.

Early in my husband’s first deployment, I had gone home to visit my parents.  While there, a very dear friend of my mom’s was over for lunch.  I only knew her as mom’s friend, and that her daughter’s went to my school (they were a few years behind me).  What I didn’t know was that her husband served in Viet Nam.  She had asked me about communications between me and Hubby.  I told her about getting frequent e-mails and occasional phone calls.  She then talked about how when her hubby was deployed it was months between letters and how you didn’t know if he was dead or alive because of lack of communication.  Her tone, body language and eyes changed in those moments that she recalled her experience as a military spouse.  She then went back to her regular self and said how glad she was that times had changed.  It was then I would no longer have a pity party over not hearing from Hubby, because it could be worse.

From then on, when any spouse would complain about not getting a call or e-mail that day, I would gently recall the story I had heard about Viet Nam.  For some it would give perspective, but for others it did nothing.

Now, I am so grateful for technology and being able to see Hubby often… and it makes my kids happy too!!

 

2 responses to this post.

  1. Thankfully I don’t have that kind of worry, although I’m sure my wife would be happy to get rid of me for a while at least!! When I was reading your article I thought about soldiers from even further back (particularly the Napoleonic Wars) and wondered how their wives coped. Then it occurred to me that a lot of the wives and children accompanied their soldier loves on campaign, being part of the army’s train. I think the advent of technology’s helped everyone here, but it must still be rough for you. Keep your chin up – lots of people support and think about you and your predicament.

    Reply

  2. Posted by Army Wife and Mother of 4 on June 25, 2013 at 12:04 pm

    Thanks for you support! And since that conversation with Mom’s friend, I’ve meet many other women that have shared stories from WW II and Korea about the difficulties. But you are correct, many wives followed the troops to keep their families together. That is how many towns popped up near current military installations.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

