I could never be an Army Wife!


This is a comment I hear all to often from many people.  Part of me just doesn’t understand that statement.  Why is my husband’s career that much harder to deal with then other husband’s careers?  My friends have husband’s that are police officers, fire fighters, business men, teachers, etc.  Is their jobs that much different?

Sure, my husband’s job has us moving all the time.  It seems that just when we are able to stay in a place for a few years, we get sent to a place for 12-18 months.  On the up side, I’ve made friends from all over the world and I have lived in places that I only dreamed of visiting!  Also, I can not be a pack-rat.  I don’t have the room for it moving all the time.  There is always a silver lining.

Moving aside, people worry that with a job like the US Army that our husbands are in danger when they deploy.  And they are right, but with jobs like police officer and fire fighter, shouldn’t they be worried just as much?  My husband knows that he is a target and wears gear to protect himself.  So much gear, I sometimes wonder how they can walk.  (He once had me put on his Kevlar vest and helmet and I didn’t think I would be able to walk a block, let alone all day in that stuff!)  He is trained to be prepared. 

How many times do you hear about a police officer making a routine stop and then is shot?  Or the fire fighter that attempts to save a life and looses his life in the attempt (successful or not)?  No matter what the job, there is always a chance, some greater than others, that they can die doing the job they love.  A business man can be in a plane crash on his way to a meeting or a teacher can be the victim of a student sniper.  It happens all over our country and all over the world.  No matter what job a person has, there is always a chance that you can lose your life.

Let’s end this on a positive note!  I can be an Army wife because my husband is doing a job that he loves and it makes him happy.  Yes, we are separated many times, but the time we have together is precious to us and we make the most of it.  There are challenges we deal with that are different then other families, but everyone in the world has challenges in their lives.  We just make the best of it.

If any of my readers have a specific question about being an Army wife or Army family life they would like me to write about, ask away.  Things are not always rosy, but I do try to make the best of it.

5 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Clara on September 9, 2008 at 12:29 am

    hay girl..thanks for the link…not a very long blog still I see…but I look forward to reading it when you get to your next location…so I can travel via you (smiles)

    Reply

  2. Posted by household6hooah on September 9, 2008 at 12:37 am

    Yes, I am sure overseas will bring more and more stories!

    Reply

  3. Your post is great! My husband is a business man, owner. And while his job isn’t treacherous or life threatening he still works way too many hours, puts his heart and soul into it, and doesn’t give up on any project! And, let’s face it, he could be in a car accident on the way to or from…life is just that uncertain!

    Reply

  4. Hi! I was surfing and found your blog post… nice! I love your blog. :) Cheers! Sandra. R.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 660 other followers

